When I was young

The last time we went to the beach house, I saw these two miniature cups ona shelf and decided to bring them back. This afternoon I polished them; first time in a ling while. The cups go back very many years. 

The shorter one is a miniature which the Waihi regional calf club organisers had had specially. made.  That year (when I was 10 years old) my calf had won at Waikino School (where I was a pupil) and then the regional competition at Waihi. My calf (a different one) and I had also won both competitions the previous year. The organisers wanted me to have a memento. My mother only entrusted me with it when I was in my 40s.

The taller cup was iven me four years later when I was at secondary school. For being the most improved rugby player that year. Even at the time I thought that could be interpreted that I had been very bad at the start of the season. 

They go very well on the window cill behind my desk. 

I have posted a photo of a camellia seen on my run at midday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.