Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

The office

Sort of. Without boring anyone too much, this is Wavendon Tower, all that is left of the offices that I used to work in. The tower fronted the offices. The offices themselves were single story and organised in a spiders web fashion behind the tower. The corridors always had the feel of a hospital about them which wasn't particularly endearing.

A brief history of the buidling:


Codenamed Simpson after nearby Simpson village, Wavendon Tower was the first home of Britain's 'black' propaganda service.

Anti Nazi radio programmes called Freedom Stations were recorded there, in French, German, Italian & Balkan languages among others.

Operations at Wavendon Tower came to an end when the unit was moved to Milton Bryan on the Woburn Estate, where a state of the art radio station was built for the job.


The offices were demolished and replaced with modern state of the art buildings about 4 years ago. That is where I am based but the tower is a listed building and continues to be used for client meetings etc. On a day like today (sun was shining), it is a real picture. I even took a walk around the grounds and discovered a lake that I didn't know existed even though this site has been my base for about 6 years.

Had what I hope was the last interview for the job today. I think it went OK, but I'm not convinced I am the right person for the job. Today's interviewer gave some insights that failed to impress me. Last week I thought I really wanted it, this week I'm not so sure. I need to sleep on it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.