OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Start Point Lighthouse

Today was one of the Sunday excursion days on the ferry so I went to Sanday. Pretty grey at first but it brightened up. I cycled up to Start Point knowing that it would be a while before the tide was low enough to cross. Nice place to sit out of the wind in the lee of an old stone fishing-gear store. While sitting I talked for a while with a couple of visitors, then we noticed a great black-backed gull on the shore with prey- what we thought was an octopus! See the extra but it's a bit yeccchhh! Someone, though, has suggested it is a skate or ray and probably stolen bait from a lobster pot. I think that they are correct as only one 'tentacle' can be seen and it is probably a skate tail.
It really struggled to swallow it whole and was unable to break it up, but eventually down it went. Then I crossed over and pottered around the lighthouse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.