Return to the North

By Viking

I don't like cricket, I love it!

Actually didn't play that song at all today at Headingly but sums up the day. My sister and I went along with a good friend of mine (see extras) got tickets for the fourth day of the final test match between NZ and England. It was a blazing hot day ( as sis will attest!) although a very stiff and blustery breeze meant it was bearable. 
It was an absorbing game and we had excellent seats just to the right of the wicket so we got to see all of the action.
And when the cricket got 'dull' there was plenty to keeps entertained! The barmy army sang their hearts out, as they got drunker they created a 200 metre long 'daisy' chain of recycled beer cups. There was a fist fight amongst them too for the pugilist fans. Lots of singing for the home town (well county) boy, Joe Root, which was spine tingling when it was sang by all. 
it was hard to pick a shot (and have put a couple in extras) but I thought this shot had action in it. it also shows the stresses that bowling puts on the body and of course it shows one of our best bowlers, Stuart Broad in action.
And would you believe it - row in front of us, one of my students from my form!!! a packed stadium and we sit close enough to have a chat

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.