sleepyduck

By sleepyduck

Weather Girl

I have spent far too much time pondering whether to include this entry in my series The Regulars. She is, after all, part of my regular morning routine. But I have eventually concluded that the series should be restricted to people I encounter on my walk to work, so the weather girl doesn't get in. Boy, that was a tough decision!

I watch BBC Breakfast in the mornings. Or, more accurately, I have it on in the background. Not just because I want to keep in touch with the news and current affairs (I could do that by listening to the radio), not because I enjoy the "witty banter" (I don't), but because having (semi-) real people prattling away in a box in the corner of the room somehow helps me drag myself into the world of the living...

I expect that many of you will recognise Carol Kirkwood, even from this super-shaky shot. If you don't, all you need to know is that she is blonde, attractive, has a lovely smile and what would commonly be described as a bubbly personality. Normally, a bubbly personality brings out the homicidal maniac in me. You can spend as much time as you like grumbling about how awful life is, and I will patiently nod my head in sympathy; but if you bounce around like a hyperactive toddler, telling me how wonderful the world is, you will soon find yourself on a slab with a kindly gentleman hovering over you muttering about multiple contusions, blunt force trauma, petechial haemorraging, subdural haematomas and severed carotid arteries... For some reason, Carol gets away with it. I have no idea why. She pops up pretty much every morning, cheerily telling me that the weather is going to be horrible, occasionally, like today, telling me that the weather is going to be lovely, and whatever she tells me, I enjoy it...

For anyone whose reaction to cheeriness is the same as mine, I would direct you to this piece from The Onion. Many thanks to Mrs S for bringing it to my attention :-)

Thanks also to everyone who commented on yesterday's blip. I'm glad you enjoyed your encounter with Dr Death.

One day I may blip Kate Silverton. That's if I don't kill her first. If I do kill her first, I'll blip her hideously mangled corpse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.