Primrose Rescue & Recycle

Today really was the arrival of Spring! Warm, sunny - even sat in the garden with a coffee and the crossword for a while. I also gave the lawn its second cut this year. I remember, when I was a child, my father would warn me that he was going to mow, and I'd rush to 'rescue' the daisies, picking as many as I could to either put in water (to die a few hours later!) or to make a daisy chain (ditto!).

But today, not only was our lawn spattered with daisies, but also with a large number of primroses. So, I set about Operation Primrose Rescue and Recycle. I dug up a dozen or so, some in flower and others in bud, with a good clod of earth round them. (A few holes in the lawn won't make much difference, as Mr Mole's already created quite a wobbly surface over the years.)

Then I cut the grass. Always looks so nice straight afterwards, despite the loss of daisies and primroses. (Not to mention dandelions.) This evening, we took the little plants up to the churchyard and planted them on Mr PP's parents' grave. I think they would be pleased. Planted them using a little trowel that I can picture my mother-in-law often using. No wonder! I discovered Mr PP made it in metalwork when he was a grammar school lad. Bless 'im! I treasure the trowel even more now.

It isn't half cheering having a warm, sunny day. And a lovely moon this evening, too. And a silver sea. Aaaah ... s-p-r-i-n-g!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.