Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Happy Hour, Bedford, Friday

He found Jesus, I found Tesco

Everything is now unpacked and almost everything is put away. I haven't decided whether or not to hang pictures and I'm not sure where to keep tools, but this will all become obvious over the next few days.
I was expecting my broadband to be reconnected today and so at about 11:30 I called TalkTalk to find out when that might be happening. It seems that despite giving me an actual date for the switch, they had no record of my request. Apparently this is a glitch with their online request service, it doesn't happen if you telephone them and speak with a person.
For an internet service provider to admit that speaking to human beings works better than clicking on something on an app is music to the ears of a smartphone refusenik like myself.
They were very apologetic that the request I made three weeks ago was not in their system and that the algorithm that had acknowledged that same request and confirmed a date for my service transfer was in fact talking through a hole. To speed things up for me they would just send me an email which I would need to acknowledge . . .
AND SO I FUCKING SWORE AT THEM
I've just moved to a town where I don't know anyone, I have no access to online banking or local social services, I'm about to go on holiday and I cannot purchase a train ticket.
and then I burst into tears and we all lived happily ever after.

All my settling-in-and-getting-to-know-Bedford activities had been planned to fit around the fact that I would have no internet access from Wednesday until Friday, but would be back online at some point on Friday. That has now been delayed by “between 3 and 5 working days” by which time I should be on my way to France. Enough of that.

The flat is far nicer than I realised when I first viewed it three weeks ago. The quality of the finishes is superb and one previous tenant was an electrician, who has done a lot to make it incredibly functional. I have just counted 20 switched sockets in the kitchen, none of which are required for the white appliances. It's how spouse would have talked about doing it, though he would never have actually got around to making it happen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.