Bionic Art

A fanciful presentation of my new bionic hip with a faffed x-ray image at my 6 week check up this morning. The extra metal and wire around my femur were necessary during surgery when the femur fractured as the surgeon inserted the stem of the new hip joint. My bone is strong, but apparently a bit small. 

Dr. Talmo was very pleased with everything. He removed one stitch that had come to the surface instead of dissolving. He commented that my body apparently didn't like that stitch. I have had no pain to speak of for the first month, last week I started to have some groin/thigh discomfort. He suggested that I still take it easy. I've done no damage to cause the pain, groin and knee discomfort are common complaints after hip replacements. It could be 'protective pain' he said, my body suggesting to me that I shouldn't do too much too quickly. I asked about Physical Therapy at a facility. He's not a fan when a patient still has discomfort. The therapists will push me and I shouldn't be doing anything that hurts. He prefers walking, swimming or stationary bike riding much more than PT at an out patient facility. He feels the studies don't find that it makes a difference for hips. I'll keep up my home exercises and walk if I'm not uncomfortable. It's too early to swim, the incision needs a little more time to heal. I will work hard myself to get stronger and avoid a limp.

So, if I still have discomfort, I should see him in 6 weeks, if not, in a year.
I'm very happy, but hope I feel more comfortable soon. I also now have a very sore toe on my right foot. Somehow, this morning I stubbed it against my cane. I could not do it again if I tried, so now I have a red and bruised toe on the healthy side to add to the fun.

Extra, a juvenile Oriole at the feeder, the first i have ever seen!

For the Record,
This day came in dark and humid with heavy rain for a bit.I hope it starts again. 

All hands wishing for Peace and a more 21st Century thinking Supreme Court

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.