WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Home!

The journey home went as smoothly as it possibly could, on time and quiet carriages.  
I was ready for some peace and quiet after the bedlam this morning with the girls getting ready for school! They could couldn’t find rain jackets, trainers, water bottles and Lucy started playing up because she wanted to wear sparkly leggings to school! Not allowed.
Sabrina finally phoned John to ask him if he’d seen the missing items ‘ Oh yeah, they’re in the boot of my car…’ 
Luckily he goes to work in the van and his car was in the drive. He got a rollicking for not bringing it all in the house after their trip to the beach to see their old childminder ( I don’t mean old, she’s only 64). Johnnie is always in trouble for stashing things away and forgetting about them, a laid back, horizontal Kiwi! We all love him though ;-)
When I arrived at Hellifield station an excited Bella May was there to greet me with Frank.
Once home I had beans on toast and a cuppa then did some cutting back and dead heading in the garden. It’s all looking very lush and the roses are laden and beautiful. I think I must have finally beaten the aphids and whitefly! (se extra)
I got the washing done and dried outside, cleaned the living room ( though Frank said he’d cleaned before I came back…yes, well! He knew his quick hoover round wouldn’t be up to my standard. There were dogs hairs everywhere!
With my salad tea I had a can of Inch’s Cider. I’m not normally a cider drinker but I really love this one.
Now it’s book and bedtime but first yesterday’s and todays poems ;-)

175/365 
Cloudy Nights

It’s been a while since I saw the moon
I don’t know if it’s crescent, half or full
but down by the sea, watching the tide
you can see the gravitational pull.
It’s been a while since I could stargaze
the clouds are too dense and grey
wouldn’t you think this strong wind
could blow all the clouds away?
but it seems there are always more
to gather and fill up the sky
hiding the wonders of the darkness
I look in vain each night - and sigh

                    ~~~~~~~

176/365 
The Journey Home

Looking out the train window I smile 
watching the tracks as we eat up the miles.
The hills and dales, dotted with sheep,
old stone barns where farmers would keep
everything the herdsman would need,
implements, straw and cattle feed.
Passing through quaint country stations
where passengers reach their destinations 
and groups of hikers now step on board
laden with backpacks in which are stored
waterproofs and maps and picnic lunch
ready for anything, a cheery looking bunch.
Now we’re drawing near to my stop,
I see Pendle Hill, with dense clouds on top.
Now I’m here and sliding doors set me free
my man and dog are there to greet me.

(see extra)

Goodnight Blip friends! :-)X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.