Six spot burnet caterpillar

I decided to revisit Bystock Ponds early this morning with the aim of finding some roosting Marble White butterflies.  It was dry first thing but cloudy and there was very little activity as I arrived.  I took some more shots of the wild flowers, at least I could see them.  After awhile a few Meadow Brown butterflies flitted around and then two Marble Whites.  The sun began to come out and a few more Marbled Whites appeared but they kept moving and I couldn't see any roosting ones, maybe they come out from the depths of the brambles or grasses.  I did spot this caterpillar although I am not sure what type it is, I assume one of the above mentioned butterflies.  It seems it is a six spot burnet caterpillar.  I returned via the ponds and didn't see much dragonfly activity there either.

A quiet day at home and a quick visit to the allotment.  I am still testing negative so hopefully it will continue that way.  My husband is recovering quickly now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.