Family History

Tomorrow my nephew is coming to see us for the day. His grandaughter is working on the family history and has asked if we have any useful information.
My blip today shows a qualification held by my father which Blippers might find amusing.
As for information we have a huge boxful of it. When we did our family histories back in the 1960s and 70s there were no computers. So we collected copies of large numbers of birth, marriage and death certificates. We toured the country looking at Parish Registers and searching graveyards. It was slow work but I can’t help thinking it was more fun than sitting looking at a computer screen all day.
Our greatest success was to find a link to a 16th. Century man who gave much of his fortune to help found what became the Library of what is now the University of Edinburgh.
On my side we found a man who owned a brewery. Unfortunately he drank all the profits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.