At the allotment again

Clearing a weedy patch to create more space to grow some extra butternut squash. They last so well with their thick skins - it’s not like having too many courgettes:-)
I do like nasturtiums - and these are unusual. They’re growing up the wire netting around the car park - keeping the bindweed company.
My mind is full of the people in east Afghanistan in the area of the earthquake. Tragedy upon tragedy. Western governments won’t help because of the Taliban. But at least the UNHCR is getting some help through. A BBC journalist got there, travelling 7 hours on bumpy roads. She interviewed a young man who said he had lost his home and his mother had been killed. He said “I miss her, I loved her so much” I can hardly bear how sad it all is. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.