Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Jeanette Winterson has a write laugh!

It's World Book Night, Shakespeare's birthday. And who better to spend it with than some of our finest authors?

I started the evening at Liverpool's preeminent independent, radical, co-operatively run book shop - News From Nowhere - where I picked a favourite book of mine to contribute to a customer-generated display. I chose Barbara Kingsolver's 'Prodigal Summer' which I think typifies everything I love about her writing.

Then I hightailed it over to St George's Hall (appropriate on St George's Day, I suppose!) for the national launch of World Book Night activities and a chance to see three of our most distinguished writers - Jeanette Winterson, Jackie Kay (my favourite poet and an absolute sweetheart!) and local lad Frank Cottrell Boyce - in conversation with Paddy O'Connell (presenter of Radio 4's 'Broadcasting House', a staple of my Sunday mornings!).

It was a thoroughly entertaining evening with all participants on hilarious form. I took some better quality pictures but this is the one that really sums up the spirit of the event for me - so, here it is!

Everyday I Write The Book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.