I am a camera

By menoleica

Saddest Sight.

Thanks everyone for the hearts stars and comments for Mondays blip. I'm sorry that I can't answer them individually at the moment
My wife has had early onset dementia for the past seven years. She is now 64 years old and I am her caregiver. Lately she has taken a liking for loud noises and wants to see where they are coming from. Yesterday the gardener for our neighbours was using a loud leaf blower. I was on the deck preparing to take macro photo of some soap bubbles when he moved from the front of the house to the back and the noise became louder. My wife came marching out past me with a huge smile wanting to have a closer look. She stopped at the edge of the garage roof which butts up against our property and is about 30 centimetres higher at that point. I called out that she wouldn't be able to see anything from there and to come with me around to the side for a better look. She immediately stepped onto the roof walked a few paces and fell straight through a skylight and onto the concrete about 3 metres below. She was concussed, had a small brain bleed, broke 3 ribs, broke her pelvis, broke her right neck of femur and her right ankle.
The sight of her falling trough the roof will haunt me for the rest of my days. 
She is having her hip replaced and her ankle operated on tomorrow. I have spent most of the last two days at the hospital and expect to spend many more there. I don't know what the future holds or when I will be able to blip again, but hope it will be in the not too distant future.
As an aside the house on the left of this photo is a Dr's surgery for two orthopaedic surgeons, although neither will be performing tomorrow's operation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.