misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

West Garden view

How full my garden plan has grown!! Almost nothing but lawn was there in the blip scene you see today when I moved here 14 years ago. But I envisioned a kind of small park with mostly medium sized trees surrounding my small house. Now It makes my gardener's heart glad to go out among them on the sunny days to behold what is happening.
I think you have to remain a long time in one place to get the rewards gardening can bring.
I wish I was going to stay longer. I just discovered that the tulip tree I planted as a 12" start a year ago has survived the deep snow, nibbling deer and rabbits. There are lovely leaves behind the wire cage it is growing in. I won't be here long enough to appreciate even the 15 foot adolescent tulip tree. My one hope is that whoever lives here after me does not revert my little parkland to lawn.
One cannot be attached... a first lesson in gardening life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.