Blippish Columbia

By OllieG90

Saint George

Happy Saint George's Day / Feliç Sant Jordi!

It always confuses me how little we celebrate out saints day here in the uk. In fact I think most of us are more likely to celebrate St Patricks than St George's. I played a gig in March in honour of St David's yet I wonder how many St George's gigs there were today?

I celebrated St George's in vastly different style last year when I lived in Barcelona. The whole city came alive as they gave roses to girls and books to boys in celebration of the day. There was a real festival atmosphere as people stopped to chat with friends and neighbours in the streets.

This year my St George celebrations extended to a Facebook post in Catalan and a pint of Bombadier whilst watching St George not smile on Barça as they lost 4-0 to Bayern Munich... Maybe Sant Jordi isn't worth it after all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.