Wilfdflowers

We're feeling a bit in the doldrums at the moment. I think it is a mix of the weather and anxiety over our forthcoming trip to London and Munich. Anyway we forced ourselves to go for a walk in search of something of beauty for Wide Wednesday. I had in mind to get a photo of the view towards Hampnett from the old A40, a view I have done before but one that we like. I hadn't realised though that the new wildflower meadow set up as part of the Glorious Cotswolds Grasslands project would be so lovely, adding another dimension to the view. If you look large you should be able to make out Hampnett Church. The wildflowers are the main thing though, and I also liked the clouds.

There were lots of butterflies about. We saw meadow browns, a few tortoiseshells, and a ringlet. I was really pleased to see a painted lady (extra). Something else of beauty! Luckily I had brought my macro lens with me (I had put it in my bag by mistake meaning to bring my standard lens with the wide angle on the camera) so was able to get a decent quality image. I will have to go back with just my macro lens and spend more time looking for butterflies and bees there one day soon.

In other news my brother-in-law and his wife arrived safely yesterday from Budapest. They are staying in Walsall while they search for a more permanent place to live. We've decided not to see them until after we get back from Munich though, so mid July.

One year ago:
Faint Signs Of Purple

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.