(180) Scuse Me Mate!

The sky looked a little less threatening this evening so I got out on the bike for a few miles when the rain eventually stopped. In Kirkcaldy I took the road along behind the Forbo Nairn factory just as the sun broke through the clouds and lit up the red brick building. I stopped to take some photos and after a few minutes was interrupted by a shout of ''Scuse me, mate" from a security guard who had appeared from the building behind me. I've been in this situation before so had a fair idea of what to expect and I wasn't disappointed when he came out with the "you're not allowed to take pictures here" etc. etc. As I was on a public highway, not on private property  or a restricted area, I was completely within my rights but the security guard was having none of it and insisted I couldn't take photos there. I had to disagree and to prove my point I got the camera out again and took a few more shots. To be fair to him, he was only doing his job but definitely overstepping the mark a bit. For context, Kirkcaldy was once famous for linoleum manufacturing, with several companies building factories in the town to produce a floor covering that was exported all over the world. Nairns (now part of the Forbo Group) is the only remaining factory and that is the building featured in this blip. 

Here is a link to a BBC News article that gives a bit of the history of the Kirkcaldy linoleum industry: https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-44128557

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.