It's A Minute To Midnight

By Draco

Orange Spotted Leaf Hopper

(Please look in gallery mode to see its beauty)
OMG did I pay for this shot and it was my only ropey shot of an Orange Spotted Leaf Hopper. I was over the moon at finding this on the underside of an oak leaf. It is practically invisible to the naked eye! 
My allergies started this morning on taking out Garri's daughters little dog for a walk. I got home itching to go out bug hunting but I had to take usual pills to cool my temp down and the obligatory ice pack on my head and the fan running for about an hour and a half to get myself ok again.
Got two cameras ready to go, one with cygnustech diffuser and one with R1C1. Upon getting one out to use (D850 with R1C1) I couldn't find the lens adapter ring so I could use the Raynox. After trying with no flash I gave up. Went back to the car to get the Z7ii out and put the R1C1 on that lens (as I had the correct lens size adapter ring) but after 5 mins I went into allergy hyper mode. My eyes poured like I was crying and I could not stop sneezing and then couldn't breathe through my nose! I was a f****** mess to be honest but then I saw this Leaf Hopper that I've never had the pleasure of seeing before. So I tried very hard to see into the viewfinder with tears streaming down my face and I only got this one ropey shot before the little guy hopped off into space!
It took me a long time to find out what it was and I dont think they are that common. Soooo tiny its unbelievable.

I will do almost anything to get a shot but I've had a very bad day allergy wise. I'm sure Ill be right as rain tomorrow as I'm back at work.

Very happy to have a shot of this beautiful little creature.

Draco

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.