Short Clover

Most of us would expect our clover to have a tall(ish) stem.  Herbie had other ideas, but so did our clover. 
 
Our clover has actually evolved to blossom below Herbie’s cutting height, so now I’m out of the doghouse with Mrs W (“Think of the poor bees . . .” ), and the poor bees have got their clover back.
 
Herbie doing his best at first extra.  At second extra I was lucky enough to catch this bee sealing up her eggs in our ‘Bee Hotel’.  Third extra is the finished job.
 
It’s been a good photographic day.  My first thought was our thistle covered in purple flowers for Flower Friday, but there aren’t that many in bloom and the shots I got are not worth keeping.  The clover was going to be an extra, and the bee sealing her nest a lucky shot that could have been the blip on another day.  (Pity today is Thursday, now what am I going to blip tomorrow . . .??)
 
This was all dwarfed by a couple of starling families having a punch-up at our feeding station.  I managed loads of shots through our living room window with the thought of getting one or two good ones.  In the end I had serious trouble reducing the catch to twenty because each one complimented the shot before and the shot after.    Too many for Blipfoto, so they are in an album on Flickr.
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.