Legacy

By Legacy

Red-Winged Blackbird, Barely

Well, he's not barely a red-winged blackbird, he's definitely a red-winged blackbird -- it's just that I barely got his picture. He was a little too high up for me to get close enough for a good shot. I went out to Scudder's Pond where he and his gang hang out but he was the only one I saw. I actually heard a couple more and thanks to Joe and our bird watching walks of late, I recognized the call, so I felt terribly smug about that. My camera seemed to have a mind of its own and came up with some strange interpretations, not what I had in mind at all. I've learned to not get excited because it's usually my fault when something doesn't turn out. I'll try to stay objective, but if the camera keeps going off on its own, I'll just have to force myself to think of getting a new one.

I moved on to a couple more of my favorite places and got some gull pictures and a crow or two. Baited the gulls with bread and left over fish & chips (which they loved), and the crows with peanuts. Nothing seemed to be really clicking (no pun intended) so I went to the little gelato place and contemplated life over two scoops of gelato (coconut and peanut butter). I did discover that I need to back for two more scoops so I can try the salted caramel and the strawberry. Somebody's got to do it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.