Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

The Soul Of Denver - And Saying Goodbye

Years (decades) ago when I lived in Denver this area - Colfax Ave - was quite run down and ‘seedy’. Like many neighbourhoods, there’s been considerable ‘renewal’ in recent years, and it’s encouraging to see new businesses cropping up and doing well. There’s a famous (and HUGE!) independent bookstore in Denver called Tattered Cover. When I lived there it was in a different location but it moved and expanded at the same time. There are now several locations but this one is now the largest. It’s been here for several years and I’m sure it’s helped bring some custom to other businesses in the area. It’s near some very beautiful large parks and the beautiful building behind the fountain and the monument is actually the local High School!

The main reason for me being there was to visit Annie’s Cafe - in business for 41 years but sadly closing down on Sunday as the owner decided to retire. It’s always sad to see a well-loved business disappear and I wasn’t surprised to see them doing to roaring business this morning. I had a hearty and delicious breakfast including their famous pork green chilli as a side with my eggs.

A little later I took the bus to another neighbourhood to say goodbye to another Denver institution - Bonnie Brae Tavern. It is closing down TODAY after 87 years in business! The reason this time is that they were being forced to update all the electrics and were quoted a steep $2 million! I wasn’t really ready for lunch but I ordered a small pizza, ate one slice and took the rest to eat later tonight on the plane. At least I was able to say goodbye! I used to drive past this one frequently. Sadly it’s being torn down to make way for apartments - probably high-rise.

See the Extra photo for a few views of both Annie’s Cafe and Bonnie Brae Tavern.

We were understaffed again on tonight’s flight. Under by TWO! AGAIN! It’s a little easier on a night flight but still hard work! I can’t face my next trip on Tuesday so I gave it away to someone who was happy with an extra trip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.