Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

What is the quickest way to learn to play fast?

One day, about five years ago, I decided I wanted to learn how to play the cello. I'd always been drawn to its thick, warm, chocolatey resonance, and the fact you always got to play sitting down was a real plus.

Enter, Pall Grondal, Bellingham's Icelandic Cello Nurd of the Highest Order. We hit it off immediately, and because I had played piano for so long, progress in the early days, came quickly.

Soon after we began, Pall introduced me to Joan. A kindred spirit, she too was embarking on a mid-life musical adventure. Being at the same level of ability, it was natural for us to join forces and play duets together (and we continue the tradition to this day). Pall dubbed us, The Cello Nurds (his spelling of 'nerds').

Months quickly rolled into years. As the pieces became more challenging, my progress slowed. It can take me days now to work through a piece, and several months to have it even remotely presentable. Lately, I feel my progress has hit a plateau, but I know why: I simply don't practice enough.

Pall has decided to retire in a few months. Over the last five years, he has given me (and Joan) a solid foundation in cello technique, history, and theory. I am armed with several books of etudes and exercises and Pall assures me that if I get through all of them, cover to cover, I will be in very, very good shape. I have loads of old music I can revisit and review, and Pall is putting together a list of suggested pieces I can tackle in the future.

These past years have been so much fun, and my interest and desire to master the cello has never waned. Thank you Pall, for your patience, your guidance, and your musical excellence!

The answer to Pall's favorite question: play slowly.

Here's a Beethoven Variation to enjoy. (as usual, Beethoven's piano accompaniment is over the top!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.