CHERYLCHEN

By CHERYLCPH

.nothing Petra-fying about Petra!

.another place on my bucket list - PETRA! this is a view of the Amphitheater in Petra...

my gosh. i've never walked so much in my life. for a 'young' person (i'm almost 30), the climb was almost insane!!!

we covered all the spots on the Petra map in six whole hours. my other half and i are crazy fast walkers. hahahahahahahahahahahaha. it was BEYOND amazing to finally get to the peak of Petra - where the Monastery was. our legs were aching and our bodies were exhausted (note to anyone - eat a proper breakfast before you head to Petra).

on a different note, the washrooms were extremely clean. let me just say what you should remember to do when you head to Petra...

1. wear extremely durable and comfortable track / trek shoes that grip the ground really well. NO, don't even plan on wearing sandals or slippers! Petra is filled with so much sand / pebbles / rocks / stones / camel + donkey + horse poop.

2. carry a small bottle of water (or these can be purchased along the way).

3. keep your lens cap on your camera when you're not taking pictures...or even better, carry a bag that can be close / zipped. we walked through at least 10 sand whirlwinds....my hair was a total mess (so i had it bunned up), my bag was filled with very fine sand, i still have sand in my camera....SAND SAND SAND! it was inSAND! heehee.

4. try your best to walk through it all......don't take the horses / donkeys / camels / mules..............not only do they lead tough lives....but the Bedouins will probably attack your pocket.

enough of my blabber. i have more images of my trip here....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.