4Sam3388

By 4Sam3388

1915 Girl

It is a late night Blip tonight however in 1915 on the eve of the Gallipoli Landings there were young men and women more worried about their lives and those of their loved ones than they would be about my posting of a blip.

My grandmother was 14 years old at the time having been born in July 1900. Later in life she made this bronze sculpture of a young girl which I believe to be as much of a self portrait as anything. It stands at least a 35cm high and weighs a ton.

I haven't photographed it that well on top of the mantelpiece but then again maybe I have. She would have been 14 when so many of those young soldiers lost their lives so cheaply and for what. It is nice and bronze but I think she would approve of the way I have used it to honour young men and women of 1915. I did my best to photograph it in the dark with some minimal light from the times of blackouts and caution.

The empty eyes in her sculpture I think reflect some of that. Luckily Nan remained full of life throughout her whole life despite having had to live through both world wars.

My grandmother lived to be 103 before she died and this is my most prized possession from her legacy.

Lest We Forget

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.