Visiting Billy's Visitor Centre

Today was  was my third visit to Eilean Mor MacCormick  a small uninhabited island that sits in the mouth of Loch Sween but which has a very special place in SNP history .

I explained that in my blip the last time Cathleen and I were there   and you can find that entry here.  .   We were also there a year earlier and there is more from  that day's blip too.   Each has a link to a Flickr posting and I have put some more up today as well.   

Today's trip started in dreich rain at Tayvallich but the weather brightened as we arrived at the island and  by early afternoon there was even some  blue sky visible.

The small visitor centre is always open and passing yachts often stop.   It is named in Billy Wolfe's honour, as my first extra photo shows.    Some people come and  camp for a day or two  to help maintain the place (and  such voluntary effort also  built the bothy and the kitchen ) and others take advantage of the annual visitor's day, as we have done.  

 My second  extra photo is the group of friends we came with (there were others who came earlier and later) waiting for the boat at Tayvallich, along with the dogs ,Rula, Breagha and Jim , who all also  had a hugely enjoyable time! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.