My Restless Lens

By terri365

1625 - Violet Click Beetle

When I was walking with Emily yesterday she was telling me about a new walk she had found which is one I haven't done for aaaaaaages so I decided to go up there for this morning's dog walk - Ear's Hill, Stirling.  I had Map My Walk on and when we got to the first stop we were just over 1.8 miles and Aonghus was doing good but I didn't want to push him so we didn't go all the way up to the masts.

On the way back I had the camera out and got a plethora of macro shots, a lot of which are blurred as it was so windy!  I came across this little fella and he was hard to shoot with his position and overhanging branches.  The extra is his face/head which I failed to shoot properly and they were all very underexposed but I have posted the shots anyway as apparently they are very rare and are only found at 3 sites in the UK - all are which are down south - Worcestershire, Berkshire/Surrey border and Gloucestershire.  I love the colour (purple is my favourite!) and will try and see if I can record this siting anywhere!  It's not the first time I have come across a rare siting!  I found some bee beetles a few years ago near Aviemore.

Some of the afternoon was spent in the garden.  Cutting the grass for one - or should I say cutting the dandelions....  they are getting out of hand and will need to do something about them!  

Made soup (it's a wee bit chilly up here), did 2 loads of washing, filled in some more cracks in the living room so I can paint soon.

Then some me time with a book.  Dinner and now some more me time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.