Maharage

Beans.

I have discovered chapati and beans as a perfect dinner choice. Especially after the basic rations on offer at breakfast, which today were black instant coffee and a lump of boiled yam.

A day which ended with a feeling of having been productive but which was peppered with management tomfoolery and unrealistic demands which I successfully rebuffed. Overall I am still so much more relaxed in the evenings than at any time in the preceding few years. It’s an utter joy not feeling the anxious tug towards tasks that cannot wait until tomorrow.

I can’t find the divine creation of pastéis de nata here, but where they are common, in Mozambique, unfortunately my former work was stressful. In Tanzania I’ll take the simplicity of boiled yam if it means much less stress. Swings and roundabouts.

Masasi bus station at lunchtime. I suspect on several occasions in the coming years I’ll roll off a bus here after a 10-hour journey from Dar es Salaam. Ten hours assuming no mechanical problems.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.