To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

Backyard Reconnaissance

We took the canoe out on the pond this afternoon to look for turtles and frogs. Not even a sighting of one of the giant resident snappers, but we surveyed the beaver damage to dozens of trees around the pond and paddled by the new beaver lodge. No one appeared to be home.

Back on terra firma, my first mate tried out her new bicycle, while I quietly dealt with the carnage at the wood pile. The dogs had found a field mouse's nest and tore it apart. I know it's only natural on the dogs' part (both are terrier mixes), but it's still always sad to deal with the casualties. Especially when they include baby animals. :( Guess I could look at it this way -- seven fewer mice trying to infiltrate and occupy my attic next fall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.