Mayacamas Mountains

I thought I was getting out of bed early this morning but once I focused enough to read the clock properly it turned out that it was an hour later than I thought. John was up even later than I was and then wanted to go to the store (bless him) before it got crowded. Like everything else, I think it's very hard to predict, but far be it from me to get in the way of him going whenever he wants. He has a horror of crowds, not Covid induced but because he has always hated having to wait. After 50 years of grocery shopping, I am more than happy to leave it to him....however he wants to do it.

We are no longer leaving the grocery bags outside for 24 hours or washing everything including tins and cartons but I am happy to put everything away since I am much more compulsive about where things should go. I think the storage bins for vegetables in fridges should be a lot bigger!

We got Spike out for his walk. I took this picture of the mountains from the trail above Spring Lake. The path of the fire is pretty clear because the burned trees are not coming back, but hey somehow look less stark against the straw colored grass than they do in the winter when everything is green.

Jim is still testing positive for Covid so, although she is negative now, Dana prefers to hang out at home with him until he gets a negative result. She's going to make apricot jam and requested lemons so I left some, along with a kitchen scale on their front porch (shades of those early lockdown days).

I probably should consider dusting some day, but it seems so futile with all the construction going on around us. Instead I worked on the quilt and then went down the rabbit hole of ordering fabric online again. It is definitely not an ideal way to get fabric, especially when the much anticipated little packages begin to arrive and I realize I have ordered something I already have, or worse yet ordered the same thing from two different places....I have been cutting out triangles for days and am dying to start sewing. Fabric doesn't look at all the same in a little square on the screen as it does full scale in the fabric store.

The Tour de France has begun and we are still hooked, even though many of the riders we once knew and loved have retired or left in disgrace for doping. It was a big scandal at the time, especially when Lance Armstrong was stripped of his many titles and took some of his mates down with him. He has now slipped into obscurity but the race goes on, and we will go on with it because it has become a way of life in July. At least now that we have a smart TV, we don't have to get up at the crack of dawn to watch it....

I have just been informed that this is a milestone blip entry if not exactly a milestone picture. If I've done the math correctly, it's been 10 years. Heavens! It has been one constant in a sometimes tumultuous time and I am, as always, grateful for this wonderful place to air my thoughts, make friends and peer into the lives and thoughts of people all over the place. Thanks to everyone who continue to make it happen. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.