stuartjross

By stuartjross

Seat Post

S had this bike when in primary school He has outgrown it. I used it a lot, early covid era before getting my own gravel bike. Other than it being a bit small for me everything works well on it. I have stumbled on a relatively low cost modification, an extended seat post. I can now sit on it at the correct height and with sufficient length of post retained in the frame for safety.
It is much heavier than my own, has big knobbly tyres which give more confidence on fast down-hill sections of gravel road. While I manged to pedal up here without getting off it was really hard and it seems to move more slowly on tarmac for a  given level of effort.

I had a long desk day and I only managed this short ride after dinner after the modification. There is almost a thousand feet of ascent here and I would say best done on an empty stomach.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.