wrperry

By wrperry

A First

I have never found a hummingbird nest on my own before today.  I was sitting on the deck, trying to decide if I should move along and take care of some chores, when I spotted movement that I thought was a chickadee.  I had my 100-400mm lens on hand, and discovered that it was a female hummer.  Better yet, it was on a nest!  I ran inside for my 200-600mm because it was a distance away, and being such a tiny subject, it was still difficult to photograph.  This photo is heavily cropped.  I had seen a female around my petunia hanging basket, but had never really thought about finding hummers beside a pond in tall pine trees.

I'm also including a photo of what I believe is a female Baltimore Oriole, in the same trees.  They're a whole lot easier to find, given that pretty yellow/orange color.

Thanks for stopping by!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.