The one that got away

Many years ago I was an obsessive collector of anything Clarice Cliff. Initially I collected pieces for pennies. I then remember falling for and paying the grand sum of £70 for a complete coffee set (probably a week’s salary). It got out of hand and I couldn’t resist buying every Clarice I saw. Disaster struck when my adored grey Burmese knocked a rare planter off a shelf. By then my collection was becoming pretty valuable and the insurance expensive, so I reluctantly auctioned it off, together with a few non Clarice items.

The one piece which didn’t achieve the reserve price is this Wilkinson ‘Indian Summer’ pot (a Clarice design, but only stamped Wilkinson). I assume it should have a lid. I always liked it, so happy to keep it as a momento of happy weekends spent rummaging in bric-brac shops.

Came home after a morning walk. Was getting too hot (for me). Been watching tennis since. Pity about Sinner, but Norrie made the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.