RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

Bricks

The surveyor's report when I bought the house said that the back addition was one brick thick. And indeed the kitchen and the room above it were and came down fairly easily yesterday. But it turns out that the single-storey lean-to bathroom behind it had been insulated in brick, so was actually three bricks thick but without the third layer being tied into the other two. This morning that lot met a sledgehammer and chunks of it came down very satisfyingly in clouds of powdery mortar. The bricks of both the kitchen and the bathroom are much better quality than I expected - similar to the wire-cut brick stacks I brought with me when I moved in - and because the mortar is so bad some of them are coming down clean and will be quite easily reusable. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.