Why everything's made in China

Today we visited my lovely sister in Staffordshire, and had a quick catch up with my niece and family. The children are now 15 and 12, and are still delightful as they grow up.

As we drove through Nottinghamshire, I felt a surge of nostalgia + angst at the sight of the power station - going back to when Britain was still a manufacturing country. Now, whatever you buy, it is Made in China. As they continue to build coal-fired power stations at a faster pace that that of the rest of the world combined, they are able to undercut all competition. We live in strange times, and I worry for the future. The path to hell is paved with good intentions.

On a more cheerful note, my sister can look forward to the most amazing triple-headed strawberry ripening in her garden (see Extras).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.