View from the Great Orme

After waking with a start from a weird dream in which I'd slept through a dentist appointment, I realised that I only had 15 minutes to get to the doctors to get my MMR jab. After a quick cycle, I managed to get there on time, and a very nice (and quite attractive) nurse took my blood pressure, while an equally nice (but not quite as attractive) nurse gave me my injection. After being declared ship shape, I cycled back home again, getting damp in the drizzle, and settled down to coffee and croissant.

I decided to take the train north up the Cowny Valley to Llandudno, a victorian holiday resort on the Irish Sea. The train took about 50 minutes, and thanks to the fact that pensioners can use their bus passes on it, the train was pretty busy. The clouds were breaking up, and soon we were clacking though sunshine by the banks of the river, which was quickly opening out into a large estuary.

I arrived in Llandudno at lunchtime, and had a big craving for a burger, so headed in search. I found myself in a weatherspoons, and while a chain, it was in an old theatre, and had a nice feel to it.

Fed, I walked along the promenard, along the pier for as long as I could take the stalls selling various tat that you find at such resorts, and then up onto the Great Orme. This fantastically named headland is a large lump of limestone pavement, and provides spectacular views back over Llandudno, east and west along the coast, and back towards Conwy.

By the time I was making my way down from the Orme it was drizzling, and 10 minutes after I was down, the hill was swallowed up by cloud. I picked my way to an art gallery, where I had a quick coffee in the deserted gallery café before catching my train home.

Put some shelves up and listened to lots of new music in the eve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.