But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Pavement Artist.

Before returning home to Roslin this evening, we paid a visit to an exhibition - at the National Quilters' Guild, then for good measure we went into some patchwork shops by way of the Marks and Sparks cafe.
The route between the three involved a street market and this guy who was trying to earn an honest bob as a pavement artist. They used to work in chalk, and their handiwork would be washed away by the next shower of rain; these days, it seems that they have a huge canvas and work in oils.
This chap has undoubted talent, if nothing else, he can paint up-side-down; however, I don't believe that The Royal Academy would find wall space for his work.

It is my proud boast that I used to have a painting by a local notable artist with "RA" after her name, I won't embarrass her by revealing her identity. In answer to the question, "What happened to it?" I say, "I washed it off." The reactions can be interesting.
Some years ago, I used to dress up as a clown and sell balloons for charity at the Penicuik Street Fair, the artist did face painting for the same charity and so her first job of the day was to make up my clown's face.

p.s. The map location is approximate as I don't know the area too well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.