Sympathy please

Took Hendricks to the vets this morning to have his teeth de-scaled. That's done under general anaesthetic, so I was told to come back at 3.30pm when he'd had a chance to recover. 
Then the vet called me at about noon. "Your dog's come round , it all went well, and he's fine. He doesn't seem very settled in our kennel here so perhaps you'd like to come and take him home?" 
This was clearly a polite way of saying "We'd like you to come and take your drama queen of a lurcher away. NOW." When I got there I could hear him barking. In the car he cried and whined , and we got more of the same when I got him home. He was still groggy from the anaesthetic, I think - you can see him here having difficulty keeping his eyes open - but also definitely milking it. He was his usual self on afternoon walkies which I'm sure blew the cobwebs away, but when he came back he went into full sulk mode and only came out of that when he wanted his supper. 
(Oh, and don't let the bandage tug at your heart strings - that was just for the tiny catheter used to apply the anaesthetic and the vet said it could come off immediately. But like I said... milking it! :D) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.