Swift

Swifts must be one of my favourite birds. They are the sound of summer, yet visit us so fleetingly. They are intriguing, mysterious and arobatic and fast! It amazes me that these birds only ever land to breed, living almost all their life on the wing.

Today after work I walked along the Water of Leith and at one stretch a number of swifts, maybe eight or ten, were wheeling and turning silently over the water. They must have been feeding on insects in the air above the river. I stood for a while and watched as these beautiful birds flew and turned and swooped with such grace. They filled the air, making that space above the water dynamic and alive.

Their speed makes it almost impossible to photograph them, but I tried. I was only partially sucessful. But I enjoyed being in the presence of these wonderful birds and I am grateful for the privilege of sharing some time with these summer visitors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.