WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

West Cork puts on a show

S requested just one packed lunch from our host today … he’d made an executive decision that it would be more pleasant for both of us if he did today’s long stage to the lighthouse on his own. I could not help but concur.

We had breakfast at 9, as the host couldn’t drive him to the departure point till 10, once breakfast service was done. I pottered about a bit and then decided I needed to do a short walk, so I picked the Funeral Path from freespiral’s book. I got to the main road, stopped at the kerb as a car was approaching, and then thought, “Hang on, that car looks familiar.” Yes, it was freespiral herself, so she was able to point me in the right direction. She was also hailed by James, who runs the Sheep’s Head visitor centre, so we had a chat with him.

West Cork had laid on wall to wall sunshine again, determined to impress. The walk was lovely, and very easy. Just right to stretch my legs a little — first through fields and woods, then down to a little pebbly beach with a glorious view. I spotted a seal swimming in the bay, but I’m not blipping it because it was a distant grey blob. Just a lovely place to sit, admire the view, and listen to the birdsong. Approach to the shore in extras. Stats: 4 km, 21 m climbing, 1 hour 48 minutes, but that included sitting on the beach and also sinking some of my drink in the pub as I’d forgotten to stop the GPS earlier.

Back in Kilcrohane, I called in at the visitor centre to buy a T-shirt for S and congratulated James on the excellent way marking. He was pleased by this, as he had designed it. A beer at Eileen’s bar, a quick stop at the B&B, then down to the Old Creamery for a light lunch.

S got back about 5:30, having hitched from Toreen. The walk had turned out somewhat longer than the guidebooks claimed: 16 km, 420 m climbing, 5 hours. So it’s just as well he didn’t have to drag me along. After he’d showered and rested we went to the pub for further refreshment, then early dinner back at the B&B. And relax!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.