Windmill 'De Dikkert', Amstelveen

'Amstelveen' = 'Amstel-VAIN'.
'Dikkert' = 'Fatty'!  A windmill named 'Fatty'!
The restaurant inside it is called 'De Jonge ('Yonguh') Dikkert' = 'Junior Fatty'!
I read the menu that was on display outside -- yummy!  The prices match the very, very chique neighbourhood.  I would settle for starters and dessert.  And a lovely cup of tea... with fresh lemon.

Fatty was built in 1672 in the Zaanse Schans and was originally a sawmill.  In 1896, it was dismantled by its owner and transferred to Amstelveen, where it was transformed into a cornmill.  The year 1896 is now recognized as its official year of registration, but the name 'Fatty' had stuck, so the restaurant attached to it today is rather appropriate.  There's a list now in one of my mental middle drawers of windmills with restaurants that I might wish to try out, and this is one of them.

Clouds had come and gone the whole day but my timing was good.  Can't say the next few days will be the same; that remains to be seen.

Housekeeping today included cleaning up the shoe corner at the bottom of the stairs.  I even washed the racks outside and they dried while I was away.  Later, AW drove over to Sweed's and Benna's for Friday evening live bridge and I did my kitchen duties while he was out.  The plans for the end of the month were finalized and confirmed.  AW has given his stamp of approval, so all good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.