This is the day

By wrencottage

Shy

I did lots of household jobs this morning in order to free up the rest of the day for me to do whatever I pleased; probably something craft-related. (No, I’m afraid I didn’t watch the tennis!). I did a couple of loads of washing, which dried very quickly in the sunshine. I wandered round the garden after hanging up the second load, and spotted a beautiful peacock butterfly sunning itself on the new buddliea, which was only planted yesterday. I was thrilled to bits, and rushed indoors for my camera. I was pleased to see that it was still there when I returned but, sadly, it had folded up its colourful wings and no longer presented a suitable subject to blip. 

I took a photo anyway, because one does, and lots of other pictures of the garden. I then ironed all the washing, which was by now dry, and felt very pleased with myself for having an empty laundry basket.

We had an unexpected visit after lunch from son #3 and granddaughter #2 and spent some time playing with them in the garden. By the time they had gone home it was our supper time, so no time for anything creative – but I did find a pile of dirty laundry on the floor in the lodger’s room instead! Of course I popped it in the machine so it will all be ready for when he goes away for a few days on Monday. 

I really quite liked the photo of the peacock butterfly, despite it being in shy mode, so that’s what you’ve got, but you'll have to take my word for it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.