Apple

When I lived in a house with a prolific and delicious apple tree, I would stew apple, dry apple and make apple leather. The much less tasty apple tree in my new house has not produced a reasonable sized crop until this summer, my third there, then it was cut down a fortnight before the first apples were due to be ripe. So I have a large quantity of sour apples in a bucket in the kitchen. That's OK, I like sour. I don't have freezer capacity to store very much so I have been microwave-stewing apples as I am ready to eat them. I have made a little dried apple in the oven but that seems a waste of electricity. But this weekend, with the glass of the windows intensifying the heat, I can pretend I'm in Mediterranean fruit-drying country. This lot was all done by the time I came back from my afternoon out and in the sunset heat I am making apple, rhubarb and ginger leather. It'll take a few days but the forecast is promising.

After yesterday's failure I did manage to get into my neighbours' garden this evening and used their hose to water my plants over the wall. Then climbed over to harvest some lettuce and pot up some chives to bring back to my little attic flat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.