Scorer

When I was a lad we lived opposite Wellington Cricket Club which was where I spent my much of formative teenage years in the summer.

From the age of 11 I was a scorer for the Club, firstly at home then later at away games. Always hoping that we’d be a player short and I’d get to play.

Scoring required attention to detail, accuracy, being methodical, communication and maths, all good stuff for a youth. And you got a free tea and 2/6d for the game. The scorebook at the end of the game became a work of art and a sense of great pride.

We were up at Detling CC watching Matt play and I was tempted to pick up the scorebook after a gap of 50 years. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience, the old habits quickly came flooding back. Perhaps something to consider in the future?

We were watching Matt alongside Chris, our other son who is over from America with the boys’ mum and Susan. It’s the first time their mum, the boys and myself have all been together for at least 8 years.

In the evening we went back to Georgina’s for an evening with Chris, a very enjoyable time as we talked about shared experiences new and old, looked through my old scrap books and sampled the Lakes Whisky that Chris had given me for my birthday.

Everyone, including Matt and Miya are coming around to us for a barbecue tomorrow lunchtime. Chris flys back to the US on Monday via a conference in Boston

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.