rower2012

By rower2012

Grey Currawong #2

Today went I felt like blipping a bird as it has been some days since the last one. Being a public holiday we decided to go back to our favourite Belair National Park, to the same spot where we had our guided walk several days ago. I knew there were native orchids there and also birds.

I found a great little orchid and on our way out I spotted this Grey Currawong, high up in a tree. Gradually worked my way closer to him, also improving my angle till I finally got a decent view of him.

Seen clearer here.

Back on 3rd April I also blipped a Grey Currawong, from a totally different part of the park. This beautiful bird is closely related to the butcherbirds and also the Australian Magpie, of the family Artamidae.

This Currawong is a large crow-like bird, around 48 cm (19 in) long on average, with bright yellow irises, and a heavy bill, and dark to grey plumage with white undertail and wing patches.

This is my blip in celebration of ANZAC Day. Lest we forget.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.