The Kiltwalk

By thekiltwalk

I do The Kiltwalk Because . . . .

The pictures have arrived in their thousands and that's not even Shaun's official one, while our Facebook and Twitter pages have gone into melt down.

Every picture depicts what The Kiltwalk means with every image portraying determination, pain, achievement, courage and joy at completing 26 miles, and raising money for Scotland's Children with each step.

Sunday, for me, was a great day for me as I walked and talked with so many people, who will appear on these pages in the days to come, however I wanted to share a very special picture that I took on Sunday.

As we arrived at Yorkhill Hospital, in the pouring rain, the first thing you noticed were the hundreds of pictures of Yorkhill's Kids pinned along the railings.

They all had tubes going into them in places you didn't know you could put tubes and were covered in plasters and bandages, However the thing I noticed was they all had something in common, they all had a smile on their faces!!

And I thought "how can the poor wee souls raise a smile, they're so ill".

The answer I came up with in my head was simple and probably true.

First of all, as ill as they are, they're in an environment surrounded by care and love from all angles. Family, friends and the Yorkhill team. Secondly, they probably don't realise how ill they are, or have never known much else, so this has been their life for as long as they've known it.

The smiles belie their conditions, because they are true fighters, full of spirit and determination, just like Oor Kiltwalkers!!

I want to finish today's Blipfoto by completing the rest of today's title which is "I do The Kiltwalk Because . . . " and I've picked out some words from two of our Kiltwalkers, who to protect the innocent we'll call Natalie and Margaret, because, well to be honest that's their names :-)

They took time out, along with hundreds of you, to drop The Kiltwalk a note, to say thanks for putting on the event, when truth be known it's us that should be thanking you.

In addition to thanking us, they explained why 'they' did The Kiltwalk and as I read them, with the hundredth lump in my throat, I immediately though of the picture I've used today and thought, that's the picture for this story as Natalie and Margaret's stories are our stories too.

I hope Natalie and Margaret don't mind me sharing what they wrote, but you did sum up the thoughts of the nation, a very proud nation at that.

Margaret's Story

"I did the kiltwalk to give thanks for having healthy children (never to be taken for granted) and to raise money for causes which have helped so many friends of mine. I was humbled at every turn on Sunday when I saw how many people were walking the same road as me.

My brother did Kiltwalk kast year and he let me tag along on Sunday and
everything he'd told me was true about you all and I will never forget it.

We all hope that when the time comes, that we will indeed step up and make that difference. To have done that in the company of so many people was magical"

Natalie's Story

"The reason I have walked now 52 miles for the Kiltwalk and raised just short of £1000 myself is because I am a mum. I care about the charities who work hard providing services for the children of Scotland.

I have the ability to walk and can heal when some children will never leave the hospice.

I care about giving what I can to help our children of Scotland.
I care about Scottish Charities...

But most importantly... I care about the Kiltwalk helping children in need".

See I told you they said it all, didn't I :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.