The glistening canal

Today I walked to the Co-op via the canal towpath on the first really hot day of this Inverness summer. I bought summery food and summery pale ales. A song was playing in the background. ‘I’ve got the feeling I’m into something good.’ It suited the weather.  On the return journey I worked up a sweat going up the staircase of locks, with this song on repeat in my head. It was very ‘catchy’ as we used to say. However I recalled a little American girl in 1966, when they were burning Beatles records, saying she didn’t like the Fab Four any more.
“Who do you like now?” asked the interviewer.
“Herman and the Hermits.” Ah yes the group that gave us the seminal ‘Mrs Brown, You've Got a Lovely Daughter’ and ‘I’m ‘Enery the Eighth I Am’. Little girls always know best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.