Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Anzac Day - The next generation

It's been a rather emotional time. Yesterday was Nathan's funeral, a sad affair and my thoughts are with his family. I went to the dawn service this morning. There is something special about being out with 10,000 people (or so it was reported) in the early morning with the waves breaking on Nobbys beach and the lone bugler playing The Last Post. I then went to the march. Much smaller than in the capital cities but I was sitting there watching the marchers bawling like a baby. Anzac day is not for glorifying war but remembering those who have laid down their lives for their country. Looking across the road at these kids I remembered when my mum and dad used to take me as a very young child to the march in Sydney. The old soldiers marching then were from the Gallipoli campaign and the second world war veterans had a spring in their step. Today there are no more Gallipoli veterans and the second world war men are old. They too will pass, but we will remember them. Lest we forget.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.