Cloud Construct

It was the texture of the cloud, brilliant white, and its high contrast against the darker blue sky which attracted me to take this shot. Then it was a question of how to play that against the trees and similar textures of the finer leaves. I experimented with various framing before settling on the original wider scene.

I discovered that the colour range mask still works even in B&W. I could select the green leaves with the dropper tool to darken them and then blue sky to adjust that. Of course, knowing trees are green and sky is blue is helpful.

Extras:
Texture In Decay.
Monarch's Arrival. First siting of the year. Only a 3,000 mile journey.
Marsh Vader. A Cedar Waxwing. Actually a group of four. Hard to spot until they moved. Pity I only had my 200 lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.