Prayer wheel

For some reason my thoughts today turned towards this Buddhist prayer wheel. I bought it on one of my visits to Bhutan (a country I love) although I think this one is made in India. The idea is that the wheel is filled with slips of paper bearing prayers and blessings (not that I put any belief in prayer) and when the prayer-wheel is held in the hand and spun around (aided by the small weight on the chain) then with each revolution of the wheel, that number of prayers will be sent out into the environment. From a very early (pre-teen) age I remember reading about travellers in Tibet and Bhutan spinning prayer wheels and it seemed SO exotic to me, so when I got the chance, I got my own. Of course, I can't reveal what is written inside my prayer-wheel!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.